Skip to content
Font Size: A- | A+ | Reset


Education Steering Committee Purpose: To prepare the Association’s school objectives, and curricula for the operations school, intermediate school, advanced/senior school, licensing school, or any other related school offered to the Member states.
Chair: John Bishop (HI)
Members: Sabrina Brown (MD), Emily Frazier (NC), Eric Gagnon (VT), Paul Giovanetti (SD), Karen Heede (VA), Adam Johnson (WA), and Rick Posey (CA).

Examination Standards Committee Purpose: To standardize joint examination processes to include a uniform document request list, a uniform work program, and a uniform ratings system in order to promote consistency among the states in examination procedures and documentation and assessment of examination findings.
Co-Chairs: Karen Heede (VA),  Craig Kaiser (OH),
Board Member: 
John Bishop (HI), Bert Gonzalez (TX), Charles Hardage (TX), Adam Johnson (WA), Oscar Lumen (CA), Rick Posey (CA), Shahid Salehjee (CA), Jesse Saucillo (TX).

Communication Committee Purpose: To promote the effective and timely exchange of information among the states and jurisdictions that have regulatory responsibility for money transmitter businesses.
Chair: Karyn Tierney (AR)
Members: Christine Birkenmaier (PA), Christopher Pope (MA).

Licensing/Emerging Issues Committee Purpose: To lead and organize quarterly calls to member states with discussions on various licensing issues. Can include calls on transition to NMLS licensing system. The committee’s charge may include developing best practice application standards. As needed, this committee also discusses unlicensed activity or processes, new and unfamiliar industry practices or any new industry trend.
These calls are confidential.  Only members who have signed the MTRA Cooperative Agreement are invited to join the calls and to place companies to discuss on the agenda.
Chair: Charles Moore (WA), Charles.Moore@DFI.WA.GOV
Board Member: Ryan Seals (WY),

Core Committee: Phyllis Arsenault-Berry (VT), Bailey Burghart (KS), Xazel Garcia (TX), Brent Hamilton (KS), Karen Heede (VA), Kari Jacobson (WA), Yvonne Little (AK), Karla Nuissl (VT), Nancy Schreiber (WI).
Members: All state members participating on the calls.

Finance/Audit Committee Purpose: To prepare the association’s budget, recommend an outside auditor and review the annual audit. Make all recommendations to the Board. Committee will consist of Board members only, including the Treasurer.  The Treasurer chairs the Committee.
Board Members: Treasurer Ryan Seals (WY), Kirsten Anderson (OR), Chris Pope (MA), Karyn Tierney (AR).

Nominating Committee Purpose: To search for candidates when there are vacancies on the Board of Directors and to nominate directors bi-annually for election. Make all recommendations to the Board. This committee shall have three members per the Bylaws. Committee will consist of Board members only.
Chair: Karyn Tierney (AR)
Members: Chris Pope (MA), Rick St. Onge (WA)

Scholarship Committee (Nanette Smith Memorial Training Scholarships) Purpose: To develop scholarship criteria and required qualifications; review scholarship applications and recommend candidates to the Board. Committee will consist of Board members only.
Board Members: Christine Birkenmaier (PA), Stephanie Ryals (NC), Ryan Seals (WY).

Multi-State MSB Examination Taskforce (MMET) is the state representative body charged with coordinating and facilitating multi-state supervision of money services businesses (MSBs). More information can be found here.

State Coordinating Committee (SCC) is comprised of two representatives from each of the six state financial regulatory associations (AARMR, CSBS, MTRA, NACCA,
NACARA and NASCUS.) MTRA is represented by Ingrid White (OH) and Jesse Saucillo (TX).
NMLS Policy Committee is comprised of a representative from each district and from each of the affiliated financial regulatory agencies.  Deborah Taellious (WA) represents MTRA.
Money Transmitter Regulators Association Logo